gypsypipergirl

The Traveling Bagpiper

Happy Camp on the Chilkoot Trail

Leave a comment

Happy Camp on the Chilkoot Trail

There is good reason for calling this stop on the Chilkoot trail “Happy Camp”. If you’d like to see the video that I made of we eight women back packing the Chilkoot Trail CLICK HERE
You’ll see why one would be happy to see this camp.
Tlingit Indians used the trail as a vital trade route to trade for resources available in the interior but was soon the most popular trail for the Klondike Gold Rush. 1896-1899 “There were murders and suicides, disease and malnutrition, and death from hypothermia, avalanche, and, some said heartbreak.” from nps.gov site
I consider this to be the hardest trail I have tackled thus far. And that includes both the Grand Canyon and HavaSupai portion of the Grand Canyon.

Author: gypsypipergirl

I am an avid traveler who enjoys camping, hiking, backpacking, and adventure. I have been playing the Scottish Highland Pipe (bagpipe) in a Pipe Band in the Midwest USA for several years. I make and sell porcupine quill jewelry. You'll find me on Etsy - look for my store - Gypsypipergirl

Leave a comment